01/21/2014

Wines of Lebanon c/o Union Vinicole du Liban Badaro Building

Wines of Lebanon at Prowein 2014

Hall 02, Stand E12


Lebanese wine producers will once again be exhibiting at Prowein this year, under a generic banner of Wines of Lebanon, organised by the Union Vinicole du Liban (UVL).


Sixteen different producers will be showing wines from all the wine-producing areas of Lebanon: the Bekaa Valley, the historic heartland of wine production in Lebanon, as well as newer wine regions such as Batroun in the north, the Metn and the Chouf in Mount Lebanon and Jezzine in the South.


Lebanon is one of the oldest regions of wine production - its vine and wine culture stretches back to 7000BC – but the sector today is very much a modern industry with nearly 40 wineries producing around 9 million bottles annually, using over 25 different international and local grape varieties in just over 2,000 hectares.


A series of masterclasses will run throughout the Fair on the stand allowing visitors to gain a greater understanding of the history of Lebanese wine and the progress the industry has made to date.


The classes will be hosted by German wine presenter Caro Maurer MW, British wine writer Tim Atkin MW, and Lebanese wine writer Michael Karam, author of Wines of Lebanon and Michael Karam’s Lebanese Wines.


Zafer Chaoui, President of the UVL said: “We are delighted to be attending Prowein once again, with a bigger and better stand for 2014. Last year we received a fantastic reception for our wines, so this year we are back with more producers to spread the word about Lebanese wine.”


Michael Karam commented: “Lebanese wines have gone from strength to strength over the last decade. The country has built on its long history of wine-making, and through experimentation with different terroirs and varieties, producers today are making some exciting and high quality wines that reflect Lebanon’s unique character.”


- ends -


Participating wineries:


Adyar www.adyar.org.lb


Batroun Mountains www.batrounmountains.com


Chatea Ka www.chateauka.com


Chateau Florentine www.chateauflorentine.com


Chateau Kefraya www.chateaukefraya.com


Chateau Ksara www.chateauksara.com


Chateau Qanafar www.chateauqanafar.com


Chateau St Thomas www.closstthomas.com


Coteaux du Liban www.coteauxduliban.com


Domaine de Baal www.domainedebaal.com


Domaine des Tourelles www.domainedestourelles.com


Domaine Wardy www.domainewardy.com


Heritage www.chateauheritage.com


IXSIR www.ixsir.com.lb


Karam Winery www.karamwinery.com


Oumsiyat www.oumsiyat.com


For further information please contact:


Madeleine Waters | Coco PR | +44 7778 702221 | madeleine@cocopr.co.uk


Emily Albers | PR International | +49-40- 450 374 04 | Emily@AlbersPRI.com


Masterclass Timetable


Sunday


11.00


Michael Karam


Lebanese Whites


Lebanese is best known for its red wines, but we'll take a look at the new contemporary style whites currently being made in Lebanon


15.00


Michael Karam


Lebanese wines: the new guard


The last decade has seen an explosion in the number of new wineries. We take a look at some of these newcomers


Monday


11.00


Caro Maurer MW


(in German)


Lebanese wines: Grapes & Terroir


Lebanon produces wines from many well of the classic, well known varieties, as well as some indigenous and more surprising grapes. This tasting will take you on a tour of the different terroirs and grape varieties available in Lebanon today


15.00


Michael Karam


Lebanese Whites


Lebanese is best known for its red wines, but we'll take a look at the new contemporary style whites currently being made in Lebanon


Tuesday


11.00


Tim Atkin MW


Grapes & Terroir


Lebanon produces wines from many well of the classic, well known varieties, as well as some indigenous and more surprising grapes. This tasting will take you on a tour of the different terroirs and grape varieties available in Lebanon today


14.00


Michael Karam


The Ageing potential of Lebanese wines


A tasting through the years including some very old vintages, to show how Lebanese wines can evolve


Exhibitor Data Sheet